top of page


Dutch is the official language of the Netherlands. It is a Germanic language that is closely related to English and German.

The language is spoken by 28 million speakers 22 million of which speak it natively.

Dutch is spoken not just in Europe, but also in the Caribbean and Africa, overseas constituencies of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and former colonies respectively.

In South Africa the Dutch dialect spoken by the Dutch colonists morphed into a new langauge Afrikaans, which is mutually intelligible and is spoken by 17 million people.

Difficulty to learn:

Use: Niche - Regional - Extensive - Global

bottom of page